Commercial informational & consulting Centre
Print version. Published on site Rusnet.NL 8 December 2003

Encyclopedia :: C :: CPRF

 a   b   c   d   e   f   g   h   i   j   k   l   m   n   o   p   r   s   t   u   v   w   x   y   z 

Updated: 02.12.2003

Communist Party of the Russian Federation (KPRF)

The Communist Party of the Russian Federation (KPRF) was registered on 24 March 1993 and considers itself the successor to the Communist Party of the RSFSR. Duma Deputy Gennady Zyuganov is the head of the party's Central Committee.

In December 1993, the KPRF received 12.4 percent of the vote. In December 1995, the party came in first place with 22.3 percent of the vote. In the second State Duma, the party had 158 deputies and party member Gennady Seleznev was elected speaker. Seleznev was expelled from the party on 25 May 2002. In December 1999, the KPRF received 24.29 percent of the vote, again leading all parties, although its representation in the Duma fell to 110 deputies.

In the presidential election in 1996, Communist Party leader Gennady Zyuganov received more than 40 percent of the second-round vote. In 2000, he received 29.2 percent.

The party has one of the most disciplined Duma factions and usually acts in close coordination with the Agrarian Deputies Group. It boasts a membership of nearly 500,000 people, with branches in 85 Russian regions.

The party declares that it has a "left-social" orientation and continues to policies of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union and the Communist Party of the RSFSR. It calls for the construction of socialism on the basis of social justice, collectivism, freedom, and the strengthening of the federal system. It has adopted a position of "patriotic opposition" to the current Russian government and encourages cooperation with other opposition movements.

The party believes that it has the support of nearly 40 percent of the electorate, although opinion polls place the party's support at about 27 percent. The KPRF has formed a broad coalition of nearly 20 "popular-patriotic" organisations to contest the 7 December election. However, it has declined an invitation to participate in the left-patriotic Motherland National-Patriotic Union, headed by Duma deputies Sergey Glaziev and Dmitry Rogozin.

Federal Party List: Gennady Zyuganov, Nikolay Kondratenko, Nikolay Kharitonov, Svetlana Savitskaya, Zhores Alferov, Valentin Kuptsov, Ivan Melnikov, Sergei Reshulsky, Valentin Chikin, Tamara Pletneva

Related links:

KPRF official site